Deutsche Oper Berlin

Pikowaja Dama - Queen of Spades

Opera

Bismarckstraße 35, 10627 Berlin

Pjotr I. Tschaikowskij

Description

Tchaikovsky's second most popular opera today, after EUGEN ONEGIN, inspires above all by its sheer size: in PIQUE DAME the mood skilfully changes from large, representative choral and ensemble opera to psychological chamber play scenes. The glamour of a sophisticated elite meets the misery of the proletariat ...

About the work
THE QUEEN OF SPADES, Tchaikovsky’s second most popular opera after EUGENE ONEGIN, delights audiences due to its sheer scale, among other qualities. The mood switches effortlessly from full chorus and ensemble to delicate chamber scenes. Sophisticated leisured society rubs up against indigent proletariat. Pushkin’s novella was used by Pyotr and Modest Tchaikovsky as the springboard into a psychogram of the two main protagonists Herman and Lisa, who are bound by their star-crossed despair and thwarted desire to express themselves freely. Herman serves the homosexual Tchaikovsky brothers not only as a touchstone in his capacity as social outcast; his profession as military engineer is also a reference to their father, Ilya Petrovich Tchaikovsky.

Herman, an officer fascinated by the secrets of the gambling community, is in love with Lisa, a lady of gentle birth. Lisa yearns for self-determination but still lives under the thumb of her grandmother, the Countess, who, besides having stirred up Parisian high society in her youth, is also reputed to be the holder of a secret strategy for winning at cards. When Herman hears the rumour, he is sure that he has found a way out of his misery. His fixation on the mystery of the Three Cards takes its course.

About the production
Director Sam Brown makes his debut at the Deutsche Oper Berlin. His set design - heavily informed by that of his friend and director colleague Sir Graham Vick, who died tragically in 2021 – accentuates the nuances and ambiguities of the work’s dramatic storyline. His approach deliberately poses questions that are meant to remain unanswered. Does Herman love Lisa or is she just the means to an end? Is Lisa a helpless victim or does she just think Herman can help her escape her golden cage? Is there really a secret key to success at cards or is it just a figment of Herman’s imagination?

Dates

Share this event

Deutsche Oper Berlin

Bismarckstraße 35, 10627 Berlin-Charlottenburg

To enable Google Maps please accept functional cookies.

Your new app

ClassicCard

Get the free app directly on your mobile:

  • Browse and book all concerts, operas and ballet events in Berlin
  • Save up to 90% thanks to our permanently low prices
  • Network with the community and share your experience

Deutsche Oper Berlin

Pikowaja Dama - Pique Dame

Oper

Bismarckstraße 35, 10627 Berlin

Pjotr I. Tschaikowskij

Beschreibung

Tschaikowskijs heute nach EUGEN ONEGIN zweitpopulärste Oper begeistert vor allem durch ihre schiere Größe: Gekonnt wechselt in PIQUE DAME die Stimmung von großer, repräsentativer Chor- und Ensembleoper hin zu psychologischen Kammerspielszenen. Dabei trifft der Glanz einer mondänen Elite auf das Elend des vogelfreien Proletariats ... 

Zum Stück
Tschaikowskijs heute nach EUGEN ONEGIN zweitpopulärste Oper begeistert vor allem durch ihre schiere Größe: Gekonnt wechselt in PIQUE DAME die Stimmung von großer, repräsentativer Chor- und Ensembleoper hin zu psychologischen Kammerspielszenen. Dabei trifft der Glanz einer mondänen Elite auf das Elend des vogelfreien Proletariats. Puschkins kurze Novelle wurde für Pjotr und Modest Tschaikowskij zum Ausgangspunkt für ein musikalisch-dramatisches Psychogramm der beiden Hauptfiguren Hermann und Lisa, die in ihrer fatalistischen Hoffnungslosigkeit und ihrem scheiternden Streben nach Freiheit verbunden sind. Der Protagonist Hermann ist als gesellschaftlich Ausgegrenzter nicht nur Identifikationspol der homosexuellen Tschaikowskji-Brüder, seine Tätigkeit als Militäringenieur rückt ihn auch in die Nähe des Vaters der beiden, Ilya Petrowitsch Tschaikowskji.

Der dem Glücksspiel verfallene Hermann liebt Lisa, die sich nach Selbstbestimmung sehnt, aus reichem Hause stammt und in Obhut ihrer kontrollsüchtigen Großmutter, der Gräfin, wohnt. Der Gräfin selbst wird nicht nur eine aufsehenerregende Vergangenheit in der Pariser High Society nachgesagt, um sie rankt sich auch die ominöse Geschichte eines Kartengeheimnisses, das allen Eingeweihten Spielglück garantieren soll und ihr den Spitznamen „Pique Dame“ eingebracht hat. Als der mittellose Hermann davon erfährt, glaubt er darin den Weg aus seinem Elend gefunden zu haben und die Obsession um das Mysterium der „Drei Karten“ nimmt ihren Lauf.

Zur Inszenierung
Erstmals inszeniert der britische Regisseur Sam Brown an der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Basierend auf der durch seinen 2021 tragischerweise verstorbenen Freund und Regiekollegen Sir Graham Vick angelegten Ausstattung fördert Brown die Schattierungen und Ambiguitäten des hochdramatischen Opernstoffs zutage. Sein Konzept stellt Fragen an das Stück, die bewusst offengelassen werden sollen: Liebt Hermann Lisa oder ist sie bloßes Werkzeug für ihn? Ist Lisa ein wehrloses Opfer oder sieht sie in Hermann eine Möglichkeit, aus dem goldenen Käfig auszubrechen? Existiert das mysteriöse Kartengeheimnis wirklich oder ist es nur ein Märchen und Wahn Hermanns?

Termine

Teile dieses Event

Deutsche Oper Berlin

Bismarckstraße 35, 10627 Berlin-Charlottenburg

Um Google Maps zu aktivieren, akzeptieren Sie bitte funktionale Cookies.

Deine neue App

ClassicCard

Hol dir die kostenlose App direkt auf dein Smartphone:

  • Browse und buche alle Konzerte, Opern- und Ballett-Veranstaltungen in Berlin
  • Spare bis zu 90 % auf den regulären Ticketpreis
  • Vernetze dich mit der Community und teile deine Live-Erfahrungen