Staatsballett Berlin at Staatsoper Unter den Linden

Overture

Ballet

Unter den Linden 7 10117 Berlin

Choreographies by Marcos Morau and Crystal Pite

Description

Overture
Choreography by Marcos Morau
Music by Gustav Mahler

Angel's Atlas
Choreography by Crystal Pite
Music by Owen Belton, Peter I. Tchaikovsky, Morten Lauridsen

The Spanish choreographer Marcos Morau has emerged as a shooting star of the modern dance scene with his visually spectacular productions. He studied drama theory and choreography in his hometown of Valencia, as well as in Barcelona and New York, without training as a dancer himself. In 2005, he founded his own company, La Veronal, in Barcelona. With this experimental group of dancers and artists, whose members come from different arts sectors, he is a regular guest at the Tanz im August Festival in Berlin. His elaborate stage works have been shown in opera houses and theatres in Lyon, Zurich, Copenhagen and Basel, among others, and captivate audiences and the press alike.From the 2023/2024 season, he will be artist-in-residence at the Staatsballett Berlin where he will work on a new production for the first time with the Staatsballett ensemble and the Staatskapelle Berlin.

Canadian dancer Crystal Pite was a member of the Ballet British Columbia and the Frankfurt Ballet under the direction of William Forsythe. She made her debut as a choreographer in 1990 with the Ballet BC. Since then, she has developed more than fifty dance pieces for the Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris, the Royal Ballet, the Nederlands Dans Theater I, the Cullberg Ballet and Ballet Frankfurt, among others. Her exhilarating, unconventional work has won numerous international awards, confirming her place as one of the most outstanding artists in recent dance history.

Angels’ Atlas was created by Crystal Pite for the National Ballet of Canada in 2020. It unfolds in front of a constantly changing light installation – a vast, unrecognisable landscape of light and matter. Against this fantastical backdrop, dancing bodies become a sign of human transience as well as vitality. Based on commissioned music by Owen Belton and choral pieces by Peter I. Tchaikovsky and Morten Lauridsen, Angels’ Atlas is a profound work. It is arranged by Crystal Pite for a large ensemble with her usual mastery of classical and modern dance, yet she does not shy away from the challenge of making complex human issues visually and emotionally tangible.

Dates

Share this event

Staatsballett Berlin at Staatsoper Unter den Linden

Richard-Wagner-Strasse 10, 10585 Berlin

To enable Google Maps please accept functional cookies.

Your new app

ClassicCard

Get the free app directly on your mobile:

  • Browse and book all concerts, operas and ballet events in Berlin
  • Save up to 90% thanks to our permanently low prices
  • Network with the community and share your experience

Staatsballett Berlin in der Staatsoper Unter den Linden

Overture

Ballett

Unter den Linden 7 10117 Berlin

Choreographien von Marcos Morau und Crystal Pite

Beschreibung

Overture
Choreographie von Marcos Morau
Musik von Gustav Mahler

Angel's Atlas
Choreographie von Crystal Pite
Musik von Owen Belton, Peter I. Tschaikowsky und Morten Lauridsen

Der spanische Choreograph Marcos Morau ist mit seinen bildgewaltigen Inszenierungen zu einem Shooting Star der aktuellen Tanzszene avanciert. Er studierte Theatertheorie und Choreographie in seiner Heimatstadt Valencia, in Barcelona und New York, ohne selbst je Tänzer gewesen zu sein, und gründete 2005 seine eigene Kompanie La Veronal in Barcelona. Mit der experimentellen Tanz- und Künstlergruppe, deren Mitglieder aus verschiedenen Kunstsparten stammen, ist er ein regelmäßiger Gast beim Festival Tanz im August in Berlin. Seine groß angelegten Bühnenwerke wurden unter anderem in den Opernhäusern und Theatern von Lyon, Zürich, Kopenhagen und Basel gezeigt und begeisterten Publikum wie Presse gleichermaßen. Ab der Spielzeit 2023/2024 ist er «Artist in Residence» am Staatsballett Berlin und wird hier erstmals mit dem Staatsballett-Ensemble und der Staatskapelle Berlin eine neue Kreation erarbeiten.

Die kanadische Tänzerin Crystal Pite war Mitglied des Ballet British Columbia und des Ballett Frankfurt unter der Leitung von William Forsythe. Als Choreographin debütierte sie 1990 und kreierte seitdem mehr als fünfzig Stücke unter anderem für das Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris, das Royal Ballet, das Nederlands Dans Theater I, das Cullberg Ballet und das Ballett Frankfurt. Für ihre berauschenden und eigenwilligen Arbeiten wurde Crystal Pite mit einer Vielzahl von internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet. Sie zählt zweifellos zu den herausragenden Künstler*innen der jüngeren Tanzgeschichte.

Angels‘ Atlas schuf Crystal Pite 2020 für das National Ballet of Canada. Das Ballett entfaltet sich vor einer sich ständig verändernden Lichtinstallation, einer weiten, unerkennbaren Landschaft aus Licht und Materie. Vor diesem phantastisch anmutenden Hintergrund werden die tanzenden Körper zum Zeichen menschlicher Vergänglichkeit und Vitalität zugleich. Auf der Grundlage der Auftragsmusik von Owen Belton und Chorstücken von Peter I. Tschaikowsky und Morten Lauridsen ist Angels‘ Atlas ein tiefgründiges Werk, das Crystal Pite in gewohnter Meisterschaft mit den Mitteln des klassischen und modernen Tanzes für ein großes Ensemble inszeniert, ohne sich vor der Herausforderung zu scheuen, komplexe Menschheitsthemen visuell und emotional greifbar zu machen.

Termine

Teile dieses Event

Staatsballett Berlin in der Staatsoper Unter den Linden

Richard-Wagner-Strasse 10, 10585 Berlin

Um Google Maps zu aktivieren, akzeptieren Sie bitte funktionale Cookies.

Deine neue App

ClassicCard

Hol dir die kostenlose App direkt auf dein Smartphone:

  • Browse und buche alle Konzerte, Opern- und Ballett-Veranstaltungen in Berlin
  • Spare bis zu 90 % auf den regulären Ticketpreis
  • Vernetze dich mit der Community und teile deine Live-Erfahrungen