Komische Oper Berlin im Schillertheater

A Woman Who Knows What She Wants!

Opera

Bismarckstraße 110, 10625 Berlin

Oscar Straus

Description

In the limelight: Dagmar Manzel and Max Hopp! She plays: operetta diva Manon Cavallini, her suitor Raoul, and the father of her daughter Lucy. He plays: that same Lucy, all five of Cavallini’s lovers, and Lucy’s gallant to boot. In additional roles: Dagmar Manzel and Max Hopp! A breathless tour de force, with the orchestra under Adam Benzwi’s baton igniting a fireworks display of marches, waltzes, and chansons, all from the pen of Oscar Straus.

Glamour queen Manon Cavallini is an operetta diva idolized by all men. Raoul Severac has also succumbed to her allure – much to the displeasure of young Lucy, who’s fallen head over heels for the dapper bachelor. She therefore asks the great diva to forego Raoul and leave him to her. What she doesn’t know: Manon is her mother ...

With A Woman Who Knows What She Wants , Oscar Straus, one of the most successful operetta composers of the 1920s and 30s, created a masterpiece. Its wild mix of waltz and foxtrot perfectly embodies the operetta style of the Weimar Republic. With hits like ‘Why Shouldn’t a Woman Have a Relationship?’ and ‘Every Woman Has a Longing of Some Kind’, Straus boldly toppled the gender clichés of the day.

Dates

Share this event

Komische Oper Berlin im Schillertheater

Behrenstraße 55-57, 10117 Berlin

To enable Google Maps please accept functional cookies.

Your new app

ClassicCard

Get the free app directly on your mobile:

  • Browse and book all concerts, operas and ballet events in Berlin
  • Save up to 90% thanks to our permanently low prices
  • Network with the community and share your experience

Komische Oper Berlin im Schillertheater

Eine Frau, die weiß, was sie will!

Oper

Bismarckstraße 110, 10625 Berlin

Oscar Straus

Beschreibung

Vorhang auf für: Dagmar Manzel und Max Hopp! Sie spielt: Manon Cavallini, Operettendiva, ihren Verehrer Raoul Severac, und den Vater von Lucy, ihrer Tochter – er spielt: eben jene Lucy sowie alle fünf Liebhaber der Cavallini und Lucys Hausfreund obendrein! In allen weiteren Rollen: Dagmar Manzel und Max Hopp! Eine atemlose Tour de Force, bei der das Orchester unter Adam Benzwi mit einem Feuerwerk an Märschen, Walzern und Chansons aus der Feder von Oscar Straus ordentlich einheizt.

Glamourqueen Manon Cavallini ist eine von allen Männern umschwärmte Operettendiva. Auch Raoul Severac ist ihr erlegen – sehr zum Unmut der jungen Lucy, die sich Hals über Kopf in den schmucken Junggesellen verliebt hat. Sie bittet den Bühnenstar daher, auf Raoul zu verzichten und ihn ihr zu überlassen. Was sie nicht weiß: Manon ist ihre Mutter ... 

Mit Eine Frau, die weiß, was sie will! schuf Oscar Straus, einer der erfolgreichsten Operettenkomponisten der 1920er und -30er Jahre, ein Meisterwerk. In seiner wilden Mischung aus Walzer und Foxtrott verkörpert es den Operettenstil der Weimarer Republik. Mit Hits wie »Warum soll eine Frau kein Verhältnis haben« und »Jede Frau hat irgendeine Sehnsucht« wirft Straus bis dahin geltende Rollenklischees frech über den Haufen.

Termine

Teile dieses Event

Komische Oper Berlin im Schillertheater

Behrenstraße 55-57, 10117 Berlin

Um Google Maps zu aktivieren, akzeptieren Sie bitte funktionale Cookies.

Deine neue App

ClassicCard

Hol dir die kostenlose App direkt auf dein Smartphone:

  • Browse und buche alle Konzerte, Opern- und Ballett-Veranstaltungen in Berlin
  • Spare bis zu 90 % auf den regulären Ticketpreis
  • Vernetze dich mit der Community und teile deine Live-Erfahrungen