Konzerthaus Berlin

Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Iván Fischer


Gendarmenmarkt, 10117 Berlin

mit Augustin Hadelich, Artist in Residence

Concert program

Antonín Dvořák - Slawischer Tanz c-Moll op. 46 Nr. 7
Antonín Dvořák - Slawischer Tanz H-Dur op. 72 Nr. 1
Antonín Dvořák - Konzert für Violine und Orchester a-Moll op. 53
Richard Strauss - „Also sprach Zarathustra“ - Sinfonische Dichtung (nach Friedrich Nietzsche) op. 30


Honorary conductor Iván Fischer and the Konzerthausorchester perform Antonín Dvořák's only violin concerto from 1883 with our Artist in Residence Augustin Hadelich, which is as virtuosic as it is lyrical in parts. Afterwards, the stage in the Große Saal will be crowded, because it's time for Richard Strauss: „Thus Spoke Zarathustra“ is „by far the most important, most perfect in form, most interesting and most peculiar of my pieces“, the composer said.

After the dress rehearsal in 1896, he was obviously very pleased with himself. Zarathustra, the eremite prophet in Friedrich Nietzsche's much-discussed text who inspired the piece of music, was not at all high spirited. He visited people to tell them about higher connections - and of course they didn't want to listen to him. Fortunately, Richard Strauss's symphonic poem is so magnificent that one cannot help but listen to it and thus, indirectly, to Nietzsche's misunderstood prophet!


Share this event

Konzerthaus Berlin

Gendarmenmarkt, 10117 Berlin

To enable Google Maps please accept functional cookies.

Your new app


Get the free app directly on your mobile:

  • Browse and book all concerts, operas and ballet events in Berlin
  • Save up to 90% thanks to our permanently low prices
  • Network with the community and share your experience