Konzerthaus Berlin

Konzerthausorchester Berlin | Christoph Eschenbach


Gendarmenmarkt, 10117 Berlin

Concert program

Arnold Schönberg
„Verklärte Nacht“ op. 4 (Fassung für Streichorchester)


Anton Bruckner
Sinfonie Nr. 7 E-Dur


Arnold Schönberg himself arranged his successful late-romatic string sextet „Verklärte Nacht“ (Transfigured Night) from 1899 for string orchestra – and did so so masterfully that its fragile passages are wonderfully brought out despite the larger instrumentation.

After the intermission, Christoph Eschenbach conducts a much larger ensemble with Bruckner's Symphony No. 7, which the composer wrote from 1881 to 1883. Meanwhile, Richard Wagner died. Bruckner wrote his mourning for his revered colleague in the coda of the Adagio, which is intoned by Wagner tubas and horns.


Share this event

Konzerthaus Berlin

Gendarmenmarkt, 10117 Berlin

To enable Google Maps please accept functional cookies.

Your new app


Get the free app directly on your mobile:

  • Browse and book all concerts, operas and ballet events in Berlin
  • Save up to 90% thanks to our permanently low prices
  • Network with the community and share your experience