Berliner Philharmoniker

Tugan Sokhiev with Shostakovich and Liszt


Herbert-von-Karajan-Str. 1, 10785 Berlin

Concert program

Franz Liszt
Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Nr. 2 A-Dur
Alexandre Kantorow Klavier

Dmitri Schostakowitsch
Symphonie Nr. 4 c-Moll op. 43


Dmitri Shostakovich was a great admirer of Gustav Mahler. This is evidenced by his Fourth Symphony, which, with its dance and marching motifs and its musical fragmentation, recalls the musical language of his role model. At the same time, Shostakovich presents a harrowing depiction of the horrors of Stalin’s dictatorship. Conductor Tugan Sokhiev combines the Fourth Symphony with Franz Liszt’s Second Piano Concerto, a piece full of virtuosity and depth of expression. The soloist, French pianist Alexandre Kantorow, makes his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker.


Share this event

Berliner Philharmoniker

Herbert-von-Karajan Str. 1 10785 Berlin

To enable Google Maps please accept functional cookies.

Your new app


Get the free app directly on your mobile:

  • Browse and book all concerts, operas and ballet events in Berlin
  • Save up to 90% thanks to our permanently low prices
  • Network with the community and share your experience