Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conducts Schoenberg


Herbert-von-Karajan-Str. 1, 10785 Berlin

Concert program

Arnold Schönberg
Kammersymphonie Nr. 1 op. 9

Arnold Schönberg
Die Jakobsleiter, Oratorium

Wolfgang Koch Bariton (Gabriel)Daniel Behle Tenor (Ein Berufener)Wolfgang Ablinger-Sperrhacke Tenor (Ein Aufrührerischer)Johannes Martin Kränzle Bariton (Ein Ringender)Gyula Orendt Bariton (Der Auserwählte)Stephan Rügamer Tenor (Der Mönch)Nicola Beller Carbone Sopran (Der Sterbende)Liv Redpath Sopran (Die Seele/Ferne 1)Jasmin Delfs Sopran (Die Seele/Höhe 1)Rundfunkchor Berlin ChorGijs Leenaars Chor-Einstudierung


Kirill Petrenko presents two key works of the 20th century: with Kammersymphonie Nr. 1, Arnold Schoenberg initiated a turning point in his oeuvre, away from the full sound of late Romanticism and towards a modern, sinewy musical language. The expressive power that this can generate is also shown in his unfinished oratorio Die Jakobsleiter, for which Schoenberg was inspired by an Old Testament story: Jacob’s dream of the ladder to heaven that leads to God is taken by the composer as a parable for man’s search for spirituality.


Share this event

Berliner Philharmoniker

Herbert-von-Karajan Str. 1 10785 Berlin

To enable Google Maps please accept functional cookies.

Your new app


Get the free app directly on your mobile:

  • Browse and book all concerts, operas and ballet events in Berlin
  • Save up to 90% thanks to our permanently low prices
  • Network with the community and share your experience