Berliner Philharmoniker

Santtu­-Matias Rouvali & Víkingur Ólafsson


Herbert-von-Karajan-Str. 1, 10785 Berlin


John Adams describes his piano concerto Must the Devil Have All the Good Tunes? as a “funky danse macabre”. Pianist Víkingur Ólafsson has chosen the energetic, diabolical work for his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker, with the youthful Santtu-­Matias Rouvali, principal conductor of London’s Philharmonia Orchestra, at the podium. Also on the programme are Helix, by our Composer in Residence Esa­-Pekka Salonen, which builds from an idyllic opening to its vehement conclusion, and Sergei Prokofiev’s Fifth Symphony, one of the composer’s most popular works.


Share this event

Berliner Philharmoniker

Herbert-von-Karajan Str. 1 10785 Berlin

To enable Google Maps please accept functional cookies.

Your new app


Get the free app directly on your mobile:

  • Browse and book all concerts, operas and ballet events in Berlin
  • Save up to 90% thanks to our permanently low prices
  • Network with the community and share your experience