Konzerthaus Berlin

Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Juraj Valčuha


Gendarmenmarkt, 10117 Berlin

with Iveta Apkalna, Organist in Residence

Concert program

Jean Sibelius
„Die Okeaniden“ - Tondichtung, op. 73

Bernd Richard Deutsch
„Okeanos“ - Konzert für Orgel und Orchester


Dmitri Shostakovitch
Sinfonie Nr. 1 f-Moll, op. 10


At the end of the season, we set course for the oceans: Jean Sibelius dedicated his „Okeanides“ to the daughters of the Greek sea god Okeanos and his wife Tethys in 1914. Afterwards, for the finale of her third and last season as organist in residence, Iveta Apkalna will perform a work with the Konzerthausorchester under Juraj Valčuha that combines the „idea of immense (and sometimes abysmal) size and vastness“ of the organ and the ocean: Bernd Richard Deutsch's organ concerto „Okéanos“, whose title means both ocean and world origin.
The Konzerthausorchester opened the season with the first symphonies by Prokofiev, Weill and Mahler, and now it ends with Shostakovich's First Symphony, which he wrote at the age of 19 as his final project for the Leningrad Conservatory. At its premiere in 1926, the young composer and his highly original work, in which wit and irony did not yet have the later taint of sharpness and horror, were celebrated with standing ovations.


Juraj Valčuha
Iveta Apkalna
Konzerthausorchester Berlin


Share this event

Konzerthaus Berlin

Gendarmenmarkt, 10117 Berlin

To enable Google Maps please accept functional cookies.

Your new app


Get the free app directly on your mobile:

  • Browse and book all concerts, operas and ballet events in Berlin
  • Save up to 90% thanks to our permanently low prices
  • Network with the community and share your experience