Konzerthaus Berlin

Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Joana Mallwitz


Gendarmenmarkt, 10117 Berlin

with Sheku Kanneh-Mason (Artist in Residence)

Concert program

John Adams
„The Chairman Dances“ - Foxtrott für Orchester

Antonín Dvořák
Konzert für Violoncello und Orchester h-Moll, op. 104


Sergej Rachmaninow
Sinfonische Tänze, op. 45


Joana Mallwitz leads the Konzerthausorchester Berlin into her second season as Chief Conductor with a programme of dance music, which for her is ‘perfect’ for the opening of the season. What's more, our new Artist in Residence Sheku Kanneh-Mason is making his first appearance as Artist in Residence - with Antonín Dvorak's Cello Concerto, which ‘adds a particularly festive element thanks to its familiarity and elegance,’ says our chief conductor. ‘Apart from that, it goes very well with John Adams’ ‘The Chairman Dances’ and Sergei Rachmaninov's Symphonic Dances: We have three composers from three eras who went to America and dealt with issues of exile, flight and home. While abroad, they incorporated musical elements from their homeland into their works.’
We are very much looking forward to starting a 2024/25 season with you that is as full of energy and excitement as this opening! 


Sheku Kanneh-Mason
Joana Mallwitz
Konzerthausorchester Berlin


Share this event

Konzerthaus Berlin

Gendarmenmarkt, 10117 Berlin

To enable Google Maps please accept functional cookies.

Your new app


Get the free app directly on your mobile:

  • Browse and book all concerts, operas and ballet events in Berlin
  • Save up to 90% thanks to our permanently low prices
  • Network with the community and share your experience