Berliner Philharmoniker at Kammermusiksaal

Kirill Petrenko conducts the Karajan Academy


Herbert-von-Karajan-Str. 1, 10785 Berlin

Concert program

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Streichoktett Es-Dur op. 20

Jörg Widmann

Quintett für Oboe, Klarinette, Horn, Fagott und Klavier

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Symphonie Nr. 4 A-Dur op. 90 »Italienische«


Kirill Petrenko feels a special bond with the Karajan Academy’s new generation of orchestral musicians. Now the Berliner Philharmoniker’s principal conductor will be conducting the ensemble in Felix Mendelssohn’s “Italian” Symphony, a work filled with sunshine, clarity and energy. Chamber music precedes it on the programme: Mendelssohn’s miraculous Octet for strings and the sumptuous Quintet that Jörg Widmann – the current season’s Composer in Residence – composed for the Karajan Academy in 2006 when he won the Claudio Abbado Prize.


Share this event

Berliner Philharmoniker at Kammermusiksaal

Herbert-von-Karajan-Str. 1, 10785 Berlin

To enable Google Maps please accept functional cookies.

Your new app


Get the free app directly on your mobile:

  • Browse and book all concerts, operas and ballet events in Berlin
  • Save up to 90% thanks to our permanently low prices
  • Network with the community and share your experience