Berliner Philharmoniker

Lahav Shani and Alisa Weilerstein


Herbert-von-Karajan-Str. 1, 10785 Berlin

Pieces by Prokofiev & Schoenberg

© <p>Marco Borggreve</p>
© <p>Marco Borggreve</p>

Concert program

Sergei Prokofiev
Symphonisches Konzert für Violoncello und Orchester e-Moll, op. 125
Alisa Weilerstein, Violoncello


Arnold Schoenberg
Pelleas und Melisande, Symphonische Dichtung, op. 5


A mysterious woman and two rival brothers competing for her love: Maurice Maeterlinck’s ambiguous Pelléas et Mélisande inspired Arnold Schönberg to write a tone poem in which he traces the love triangle in sensuous and expressive sound. Sergei Prokofiev’s Symphonic Concerto for Violoncello makes a sharp contrast, with music that is at once relentless, motoric and lyrical. Alisa Weilerstein tackles the demanding solo part; the orchestra is not merely an accompanist, but a distinguished counterpart. Lahav Shani, chief conductor of the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, is on the podium.


Alisa Weilerstein
Lahav Shani
Berliner Philharmoniker


Share this event

Berliner Philharmoniker

Herbert-von-Karajan-Str. 1, 10785 Berlin

To enable Google Maps please accept functional cookies.

Your new app


Get the free app directly on your mobile:

  • Browse and book all concerts, operas and ballet events in Berlin
  • Save up to 90% thanks to our permanently low prices
  • Network with the community and share your experience