Berliner Philharmoniker

Hannu Lintu and Vilde Frang


Herbert-von-Karajan-Str. 1, 10785 Berlin

Works by Messiaen, Strawinsky, Saariaho u.a.

Concert program

Olivier Messiaen
Le Tombeau resplendissant

Igor Strawinsky
Concerto in D for violin and orchestra
Vilde Frang, violin 

Kaija Saariaho
Ciel d'hiver

Jean Sibelius
Symphony No. 7 in C major, op. 105


Finnish conductor Hannu Lintu makes his debut with the Berlin Philharmonic as a musical ambassador of his home country. The chief conductor of the Finnish National Opera presents Kaija Saariaho’s ethereal Ciel d’hiver and Jean Sibelius’ Seventh Symphony: a formally innovative work whose harsh, Nordic tone is reminiscent of the vastness of Finnish landscapes. The concert opens with Olivier Messiaen’s orchestral lament Le Tombeau resplendissant and Igor Stravinsky’s highly virtuosic Violin Concerto, which plays with Baroque forms, with Vilde Frang as soloist.


Share this event

Berliner Philharmoniker

Herbert-von-Karajan-Str. 1, 10785 Berlin

To enable Google Maps please accept functional cookies.

Your new app


Get the free app directly on your mobile:

  • Browse and book all concerts, operas and ballet events in Berlin
  • Save up to 90% thanks to our permanently low prices
  • Network with the community and share your experience