interview of the month
October 2019
Overview

»The Merry Wives of Windsor« – interview with Director David Bösch

On October 3rd »The Merry Wives of Windsor« will be premiering at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden under the baton of Daniel Barenboim. 170 years ago, in March 1849, the same venue provided the setting for the world premiere of this »comic-fantastical« opera penned by Otto Nicolai, the court kapellmeister. We spoke with director David Bösch about his staging of Shakespeare’s material.

What is it about the »Merry Wives« that attracts you?

Any work that’s based on a Shakespeare play is a thing of wonder, because you have separate worlds shamelessly fusing with each other. And that is true in a very special respect in the case of this opera, which, like the work it’s based on, is not staged overly often. We’re presented with three worlds. Firstly, there’s the bourgeois world of the middle-aged couple, Herr and Frau Fluth, where everything that could possibly happen at this stage in life is rendered comedically onstage. Then we have the lyrical, high-romantic world of the young couple, Fenton and Anna, who believe, like Romeo and Juliet, in true love and the absoluteness of feelings and rebel against the plans that their parents have for them. And finally, there’s the third, buffo world of Falstaff, frivolous and salacious.

Humour, pragmatism, high-romantic love and a spirit world that is not strictly off-limits to mortal beings. All these components are also present in Shakespeare’s much better known »A Midsummer Night’s Dream«. Are the plays related?

If you look at those components, yes, they’re both classic Shakespeare through and through. This blend of humour, sadness, levity and philosophy has always fascinated me, and it’s reflected in the music, too. Otto Nicolai took the multifarious influences of his age and of a bygone era and fused them to produce a shimmering, highly unusual work.

Mozart’s shade and Mendelssohn’s esprit?

Some people say, »Oh, he does this a little and that a little…«, but Nicolai combined many elements in a way that was creative and unprecedented. That may be what links him musically to Shakespeare’s mise en scène. They’re quite alike in that respect. That’s probably why »Merry Wives« is Nicolai’s most famous work.

Your directorial work is rooted in plays. How did you have to adjust when you began working with music as an intrinsic part of your job?

It depends on the work. The set of conceptual and intellectual tools that you need for »Nabucco« is different from the tools required for a Nicolai comedy. My work at an opera house on a day-to-day basis is outwardly more structured than at a theatre – if you consider things like the mandatory breaks in rehearsals. Content-wise, the spoken passages in the Nicolai give us a little elbow room.

Spoken words in operas are often somewhat cumbersome and very much of their time. How have you rendered them in this case?

We’ve pared the spoken passages back drastically, modernised the language a little and tried to remove their expositional style. What was particularly nice about the process was that this happened not just with the dramaturgs at the pre-production stage but also during rehearsals – with our extraordinarily creative ensemble. The singers were involved in a big way. They’re all very open to ideas, very flexible, and they’re great actors.

So you’re saying that things are still in a state of flux and there could still be some major tweaking between now and the premiere?

You often hear that many things in opera – the length of a scene, for instance – are pre-determined by the music. But plays are not so very different. Speech is not just intellect; it’s also sound and atmosphere. In a playful opera like »Merry Wives« there’s a lot of scope for trying stuff out. Our Falstaff is just as comic a character as he is in the original. But the melancholy of the last man, who’s left awake when all the drinkers have dropped off to sleep, is also a form of melancholy that has to be accorded its place in the world - and in this opera, too, which, as I said, is made up not just of a string of slapstick elements but of three different worlds.

Interview: Annette Zerpner

Interview des Monats
Oktober 2019
Übersicht

»Die lustigen Weiber von Windsor« – Regisseur David Bösch im Gespräch

Am 3. Oktober haben »Die lustigen Weiber von Windsor« an der Staatsoper Unter den Linden, unter der musikalischen Leitung von Daniel Barenboim, Premiere. Vor 170 Jahren, im März 1849, fand die Uraufführung der »komisch-phantastischen« Oper aus der Feder des Berliner Hofkapellmeisters Otto Nicolai dort statt. Wir haben mit Regisseur David Bösch über seine Inszenierung des Shakespeare-Stoffs gesprochen.

Was macht für Sie als Regisseur den Reiz der »Lustigen Weiber« aus?

Jedes Werk, das sich auf ein Stück von Shakespeare beruft, ist etwas ganz Wunderbares weil sich darin getrennte Welten auf unverschämte Art verbinden. In diesem nicht allzu bekannten Stück, das auch im Schauspiel selten inszeniert wird, ist das sogar auf besondere Weise der Fall. Wir haben drei Welten: Die bürgerliche des mittelalten Ehepaars Fluth, in der alles, was in dieser Lebensphase an Problemen auftauchen kann, auf komödiantische Weise gespiegelt wird. Dann die lyrische, hochromantische Welt des junge Paares Fenton und Anna. Sie glauben wie Romeo und Julia an die wahre Liebe, die Unbedingtheit der Gefühle und wehren sich gegen die Eltern, die andere Pläne für sie haben. Und schließlich die dritte, buffoartig-anzügliche und frivole Welt von Falstaff.

Pragmatismus und hochromantische Liebe, Humor und eine für Sterbliche durchlässige Geisterwelt – alles Elemente, die auch in Shakespeares viel berühmterem »Sommernachtstraum« zu finden sind. Sind die Stücke miteinander verwandt?

Von den Elementen her sind sie beide echter Shakespeare. Diese Mischung aus Humor, Traurigkeit, Leichtigkeit und philosophischem Gehalt hat mich schon immer fasziniert. Sie drückt sich auch in der Musik aus. Otto Nicolai hat die unterschiedlichsten Einflüsse seiner Zeit und der vorhergehenden Epoche zusammengefügt – zu einem schillernden, sehr ungewöhnlichen Werk.

Mozarts Geist und Mendelssohns Esprit?

Manche sagen, »Ach, er macht ein bisschen dies, ein bisschen das…« Aber Nicolai setzt viele Elemente auf vorher unbekannte, schöpferische Weise zusammen. Das ist vielleicht das, was ihn musikalisch mit Shakespeares szenischer Vorgehensweise verbindet. Sie sind sich darin ähnlich. Wahrscheinlich sind die »Lustigen Weiber« deshalb Nicolais bekanntestes Werk.

Die Wurzeln Ihrer Arbeit als Regisseur liegen im Schauspiel. Woran mussten Sie sich gewöhnen, als Sie begonnen haben, bei einer Inszenierung zusätzlich mit Musik zu arbeiten?

Das ist bei jedem Werk anders. Das Werkzeug, das man konzeptionell und gedanklich für »Nabucco« braucht, unterscheidet sich von dem für eine Nicolai-Komödie. Im Alltag ist die Arbeitsweise an der Oper bereits äußerlich strukturierter als beim Schauspiel – zum Beispiel, was die obligatorischen Probenpausen angeht. Inhaltlich haben wir beim Nicolai durch die Sprechtexte eine gewisse Freiheit.

Sprechtexte in Opern sind oft etwas sperrig und ihrer Zeit verhaftet. Was haben Sie in diesem Fall mit ihnen gemacht?

Wir haben die Texte entschlackt und ganz deutlich verkürzt, sie ein wenig modernisiert und versucht, ihnen ihren erklärenden Duktus zu nehmen. Besonders schön war, dass das nicht nur im Vorfeld mit dem Dramaturgen geschehen ist, sondern auch auf den Proben – mit unserem außergewöhnlich kreativen Ensemble. Die Sängerinnen und Sänger haben sich stark daran beteiligt. Sie sind alle sehr offen, sehr flexibel und tolle Darsteller.

Das bedeutet, dass die Dinge im Fluss sind und sich noch einiges bis zur Premiere ändern kann?

Man hört oft, dass in der Oper durch die Musik vieles wie etwa die Dauer einer Szene festgelegt ist. Das ist im Schauspiel nicht völlig anders – das Wort ist eben nicht nur Intellekt, sondern ebenso Klang und Atmosphäre. Bei einer spielerischen Oper wie den »Lustigen Weibern» kann man viel probieren. Falstaff bleibt auch bei uns eine komische Figur. Aber die Melancholie des Letzten, der wachbleibt, wenn alle Säufer eingeschlafen sind, ist auch eine Melancholie, die in der Welt Platz haben muss. Und in dieser Oper, die eben nicht nur aus Slapstick-Elementen besteht, sondern aus drei verschiedenen Welten.

Interview: Annette Zerpner