Deutsche Oper Berlin

It was almost a small cultural revolution that Berlin's citizens dared to undertake when they founded the Deutsche Oper more than a hundred years ago in Charlottenburg, which was still independent at the time. An opera house of its own, explicitly dedicated to modern music theatre from Richard Wagner onwards - that was a clear counter-model to the venerable court opera on Unter den Linden. And what's more, the building on Bismarckstraße, with more than 2,000 seats, was not only larger than all the other theatres in the city, but with its renunciation of boxes, it implemented the ideal of a "democratic" opera house that offered a full view of the stage from all seats. The theatre has remained true to this tradition of a civic opera without pomp and plush in Fritz Bornemann's new building, which opened in 1961: To this day, the excellent sightlines and acoustics provide the setting for exceptional music theatre, which can be experienced by almost 2000 visitors every evening. And the spacious foyers, whose architectural elegance is now perceived anew, remain one of the capital's central cultural meeting places.

 Directors such as Götz Friedrich and Hans Neuenfels, conductors such as Ferenc Fricsay, Giuseppe Sinopoli and Christian Thielemann, but also singers of the century such as Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Christa Ludwig and Julia Varady have helped write the history of this house and given the name of the Deutsche Oper an international sound. The house continues this tradition to the present day, with international singing stars appearing alongside the first-class ensemble in the rich repertoire of performances. Modern interpretations of the great classics from Mozart to Verdi and Wagner to Strauss and Puccini play just as important a role here as contemporary opera - e.g. Helmut Lachenmann's DAS MÄDCHEN MIT DEN SCHWEFELHÖLZERN, Iannis Xenakis' ORESTEIA, Aribert Reimann's L'INVISIBLE and Detlev Glanert's prize-winning OCEANE. Under its General Music Director Sir Donald Runnicles, the Deutsche Oper Berlin Orchestra is one of the country's outstanding orchestras. In addition to opera evenings, it can be heard at the Musikfest Berlin in the Philharmonie, at gala concerts in the Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, the BBC Proms and the Edinburgh International Festival. The much-praised chorus of the Deutsche Oper Berlin has been voted " Chorus of the Year" several times for its excellent performances.

 The spectrum of productions ranges from a classically naturalistic TOSCA from 1969 to a directorial approach incorporating cinematic means in RIENZI (directed by Philipp Stölzl) to productions such as Ole Anders Tandberg's CARMEN and Claus Guth's SALOME, which reflect the more recent developments in theatre. With Benedikt von Peter's much discussed and enthusiastically acclaimed production of AIDA and the first musical theatre production by the Argentinean Rodrigo García: Mozart's DIE ENTFÜHRUNG AUS DEM SERAIL, a young generation of directors is emerging at Deutsche Oper Berlin alongside distinguished masters such as Claus Guth, Christof Loy and Graham Vick. In winter 2021/22 the first three cycles of the new production DER RING DES NIBELUNGEN are on the programme, which Donald Runnicles has developed with Stefan Herheim, one of the most exciting music theatre directors of the moment, and which with its excellent cast will also be released on DVD by Naxos.

 The new venue TISCHLEREI (opened in November 2012) creates a perfect space for experiments with new forms of music theatre and world premieres such as the contemporary rewritings of historical works, the regular cooperation with the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music NEUE SZENEN, the children's operas and for projects of the youth programme, which are a special concern of artistic director Dietmar Schwarz.

Deutsche Oper Berlin

Es war fast eine kleine Kulturrevolution, die Berlins Bürger wagten, als sie vor mehr als hundert Jahren im damals noch unabhängigen Charlottenburg die Deutsche Oper gründeten. Ein eigenes Opernhaus, das explizit auch dem modernen Musiktheater von Richard Wagner an geweiht sein sollte – das war ein klares Gegenmodell zur ehrwürdigen Hofoper Unter den Linden. Und noch dazu war der Bau an der Bismarckstraße mit über 2000 Sitzplätzen nicht nur größer als alle anderen Theater der Stadt, sondern er setzte mit seinem Verzicht auf Logen das Ideal eines „demokratischen“ Opernhauses um, das von allen Plätzen die volle Sicht auf die Bühne bot. Dieser Tradition einer Bürgeroper ohne Pomp und Plüsch ist das Haus auch im 1961 eröffneten Neubau Fritz Bornemanns treu geblieben: Die hervorragenden Sicht- und Akustikverhältnisse bieten bis heute den Rahmen für ein Musiktheater von Ausnahmerang, das an jedem Abend von fast 2000 Besuchern erlebt werden kann. Und die großzügigen Foyers, deren architektonische Eleganz heute wieder neu wahrgenommen wird, sind nach wie vor einer der zentralen kulturellen Treffpunkte der Hauptstadt.

 Regisseure wie Götz Friedrich und Hans Neuenfels, Dirigenten wie Ferenc Fricsay, Giuseppe Sinopoli und Christian Thielemann, aber auch Jahrhundertsänger wie Dietrich-Fischer-Dieskau, Christa Ludwig und Julia Varady haben die Geschichte dieses Hauses mitgeschrieben und dem Namen der Deutschen Oper einen internationalen Klang gegeben. Diese Tradition setzt das Haus bis in die Gegenwart fort, internationale Gesangsstars sind neben dem erstklassigen Ensemble in dem reichen Repertoire an Aufführungen zu erleben. Moderne Befragungen der großen Klassiker von Mozart über Verdi und Wagner bis zu Strauss und Puccini spielen hier ebenso eine wichtige Rolle wie die zeitgenössische Oper – z.B. Helmut Lachenmann DAS MÄDCHEN MIT DEN SCHWEFELHÖLZERN, Iannis Xenakis‘ ORESTEIA, Aribert Reimanns L’INVISIBLE und Detlev Glanerts mehrfach ausgezeichnete OCEANE. Das Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin gehört unter seinem Generalmusikdirektor Sir Donald Runnicles zu den herausragenden Klangkörpern des Landes, neben den Opernabenden ist es u. a. im Rahmen des Musikfests Berlin in der Philharmonie, bei Galakonzerten im Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, den BBC Proms und dem Edinburgh International Festival zu erleben. Der vielgerühmte Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin wurde für seine exzellenten Leistungen schon mehrfach zum „Chor des Jahres“ gewählt.

 Die Bandbreite der Inszenierungen reicht von einer klassisch-naturalistischen TOSCA aus dem Jahr 1969 über einen Regieansatz unter Einbeziehung filmischer Mittel in RIENZI (Regie: Philipp Stölzl) bis zu Produktionen wie Ole Anders Tandbergs CARMEN und Claus Guths SALOME, die die jüngeren Entwicklungen des Theaters reflektieren. Mit Benedikt von Peters heiß diskutierter und begeistert gefeierter AIDA-Inszenierung und der ersten Musiktheater-Regie des Argentiniers Rodrigo García: Mozarts DIE ENTFÜHRUNG AUS DEM SERAIL, zeigt sich neben den profilierten Meistern wie Claus Guth, Christof Loy und Graham Vick eine junge Regisseurs-Generation an der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Im Winter 2021/22 stehen die ersten drei Zyklen der Neuproduktion DER RING DES NIBELUNGEN auf dem Programm, die Donald Runnicles mit Stefan Herheim, einem der aktuell spannendsten Musiktheaterregisseure, erarbeitet hat und die mit ihrer exzellenten Besetzung auch auf DVD bei Naxos erscheinen wird.

 Die neue Spielstätte TISCHLEREI (eröffnet im November 2012) schafft einen perfekten Raum für Experimente mit neuen Formen des Musiktheaters und Uraufführungen wie die zeitgenössischen Überschreibungen historischer Werke, die regelmäßige Kooperation mit der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler NEUE SZENEN, die Kinderopern und für Projekte des Jugendprogramms, die Intendant Dietmar Schwarz ein besonderes Anliegen sind.

 

www.deutscheoperberlin.de